Mirror Mirror on the Wall

index“Mirror mirror on the wall, who is the fairest one of all?” That was evil vanity in action in the story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Of course, that is just a fairy tale. Closer to life, there are also stories of vanity, obsessiveness and ugliness. A woman will guard her face and figure jealously. Trips to the spa and gym are mandatory for the socialites. Those assets represent “her beauty”. Man will guard his sports car like a woman guards her assets. A scratch on his shiny marque will evoke quick and merciless response.

A recent incident posted by blogger Gilbert Cheah in Singapore is absolutely funny and bizarre.

Just had this BIZARRE experience— I was walking to my car in the carpark of Paragon when i saw this very cool Mercedes AMG with gull-wing doors. I took my phone out and snapped a photo of it. Just then the owner, a lady, comes up and starts SCREAMING at me for taking photos, saying “I didn’t give you permission! Stop! I’m calling the police!” I was so shocked and asked her what the problem was, and that I took the photo because she had a very nice car. She continued to shout and said she would call the police, at which point I said, ‘Fine call the police” and she takes out her phone and starts taking my photo. I just stood there and smiled at her as she snapped photos. Then when I walked back to my car, parked nearby, she screamed, “Your cheapskate car! You are so cheapskate!” As I got into the car she ran in front of it and snapped photos, saying “See your cheapskate car! Get lost! Cheapskate!”

Read the full story here.

Obviously, it was the car that was being admired and not the driver. Why the commotion? The only plausible reason is that jealousy has overwhelmed the poor lady. Hey Gilbert, next time take the photo of the pretty lady and not the car. You obviously got the wrong one. You should be galant enough to rush to her aid with her shopping bag since her maid is not with her. You will be spared the agony of being abused and get a sweet smack on your cheeks instead.


Psalm 10:7
His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and fraud: under his tongue is mischief and vanity.


, , ,